At RING, we like exchanging with sponsors about integrative numerical geology. Interactions with sponsors take many forms.

Annual Meeting

The main interaction between the RING team and sponsors happens during the annual RING meeting. This meeting is usually organized in september and allows an efficient interaction between students, researchers and consortium affiliates.

Technical conference

The schedule integrates oral and poster presentations from the RING team researchers and students, on the RING research topics. The proceedings of the conference are restricted to sponsors.

This conference also welcomes contributions from all sponsors to showcase their research work in integrative numerical geology to the community.

Proceedings papers, presentation slides and recorded presentations are accessible for all sponsors to download.


During each annual meeting, the RING team proposes a training session where sponsors can try RING software following tutorial exercises. During this session, consortium members are invited to discuss with researchers and developers in order to provide direct feedback, share ideas and initiate new lines of research and development.

Trainings and Technologies are also accessible all-year-long for all sponsors to download.


RING Team researchers can visit sponsors to discuss about topics of mutual interest and give presentations. Summer internships are also possible.

Governance: steering committee

Industrial sponsors can advise and impact the research performed by the RING team during the Steering committee.

The steering committee of the consortium is in charge of discussing and voting the budget and the research directions. Since 1994, the Steering Committee has been chaired by a President and a Vice-President elected by the members. The Steering Committee generally meets once a year right after the annual technical meeting. Each year, the Vice-President is upgraded as President and a new Vice-President is elected.

President: Stan Jayr (Chevron)

Vice-President: Arnaud Levannier (Schlumberger)

Past Presidents of the Phase III Consortium :

  • 1998 - Steve Garrett (Chevron)
  • 1999 - Olivier Dubrule (Elf)
  • 2000 - Richard Wetterauer (Exxon)
  • 2001 - Tim White (Landmark)
  • 2002 - Rupert Cole (Shell)
  • 2003 - Jackie Singleton (Phillips Petroleum)
  • 2004 - Sebastien Bombarde (ChevronTexaco)
  • 2005 - Christophe Basire (Statoil)
  • 2006 - Phil Ware (Kerr McGee)
  • 2007 - Isabelle Moretti (IFP)
  • 2008 - Alan Curtis (BHP Billiton)
  • 2009 - Luciano Pereira Dos Reis (Petrobras)
  • 2010 - Marek Czernuszenko (ExxonMobil)
  • 2011 - Francis Morandini (Total)
  • 2012 - Paolo Ruffo (ENI)
  • 2013 - Peter Suess (Wintershall)
  • 2014 - Remi Moyen (CGG)
  • 2015 - Sebastien Strebelle (Chevron)
  • 2016 - Jean-Luc Rudkiewicz (IFPEN)
  • 2017 - Emmanuel Gringarten (Paradigm)
  • 2018 - Abdulaziz Al-Moqbel (Saudi Aramco)
  • 2019 - David Ledez (Total)


The RING-GOCAD Consortium is managed by Association Scientifique pour la Géologie et ses Applications (ASGA), a not-for-profit organization associated to the Nancy School of Geology and GeoRessources at Université de Lorraine. The main mission of ASGA is to develop research and teaching in applied geosciences and to support the Nancy School of Geology.